Keep Moving: Notes on Loss, Creativity, and Change

Keep Moving: Notes on Loss, Creativity, and Change

Marie Claire’s The 2020 Books You Should Pre-Order Now
The Washington Post’s What to Read in 2020 Based on the Books You Loved in 2019
Parade’s 25 Self-Help Books To Get Your 2020 Off On The Right Foot

Keep Moving speaks to you like an encouraging friend reminding you that you can feel and survive deep loss, sink into life’s deep beauty, and constantly, constantly make yourself new.” —Glennon Doyle, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Love Warrior and Untamed

For fans of Anne Lamott and Cleo Wade, a collection of quotes and essays on facing life’s challenges with creativity, courage, and resilience.

When Maggie Smith, the award-winning author of the viral poem “Good Bones,” started writing daily Twitter posts in the wake of her divorce, they unexpectedly caught fire. In this deeply moving book of quotes and essays, Maggie writes about new beginnings as opportunities for transformation. Like kintsugi, the Japanese art of mending broken ceramics with gold, Keep Moving celebrates the beauty and strength on the other side of loss. This is a book for anyone who has gone through a difficult time and is wondering: What comes next?

Title:Keep Moving: Notes on Loss, Creativity, and Change
ISBN:9781982132071
Format Type:

    Keep Moving: Notes on Loss, Creativity, and Change Reviews

  • Diane S ?

    3.5 Although Smith is focusing on her own mental health after her divorce, there is much within that can apply to our current situation. We have all suffered losses this year whether it be loved ones,...

  • Deborah Harkness

    I am loving loving LOVING Maggie Smith's book. It is the perfect book for these difficult times and really spoke to me as someone who needs to feel creative to feel alive—challenging at the moment! ...

  • Rachel Len

    Disclaimer: I received a free copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. Maybe I should give a second disclaimer about how Maggie and I have followed each other on Twitter ...

  • britt_brooke

    Minuscule snippets of Smith’s divorce, miscarriages, and postpartum depression are buried among annoyingly repetitive self-affirmations. The phrase “Keep Moving” appears 170 times in only 224 pa...

  • Charlotte

    This little inspirational volume is probably best appreciated in snippets, as a regular dose of affirmation and cheerleading that could help the reader "keep moving" through difficult seasons of life....

  • Jacob

    I‘ve enjoyed aesthetic gloom for something like fifteen years now. Embracing cynicism and doom gave my younger self an easy path forward (and there are some things from that time that I’ll always ...

  • Misse Jones

    “Stop searching yourself trying to understand why someone else treated you the way they did: the answer is not inside you, it’s inside of them, out of reach. Instead, work on understanding—truly...

  • mentalexotica

    It’s not great, I have to say. And I know this review is going to spat upon. But this book is quite trite. And UNLESS, you’ve lived under a rock your whole life, there is very little here you have...

  • Sarah Ressler Wright

    Maggie’s voice is outstanding and this book is heartfelt & excellent. Short aphorisms to keep spirits up intermingled with short essays about moving foreword after loss. I love that we are OWU class...

  • Shelley

    I've had breakups that brought me to my knees, endings that left me destroyed, crying, hopeless. I think I learned a little from each of them, but I never worked the inspiring magic trick poet Maggie ...