Heiress Apparently

Heiress Apparently

The first book in an epic and romantic YA series following the fictionalized descendants of the only officially recognized empress regent of China

Gemma Huang is a recent transplant to Los Angeles from Illinois, having abandoned plans for college to pursue a career in acting, much to the dismay of her parents. Now she’s living with three roommates in a two-bedroom hovel, auditioning for bit roles that hardly cover rent. Gemma’s big break comes when she’s asked to play a lead role in an update of M. Butterfly filming for the summer in Beijing. When she arrives, she’s stopped by paparazzi at the airport. She quickly realizes she may as well be the twin of one of the most notorious young socialites in Beijing. Thus kicks off a summer of revelations, in which Gemma uncovers a legacy her parents have spent their lives protecting her from—one her mother would conceal from her daughter at any cost.

Title:Heiress Apparently
Edition Language:English
ISBN:9781419749964
Format Type:

    Heiress Apparently Reviews

  • Miranda Reads

    New Month, New Tierlist BookTube Video is up - click the link to check out my August Reading Vlog! The Written Review Gemma Huang graduated from high school a couple of weeks ago and s...

  • Nilufer Ozmekik

    I think another 3 solid stars are coming up. The reason is obvious : I liked some parts but the entire concept and pacing didn’t work for me!Funny thing about this book: it’s advertised as America...

  • Claude's Bookzone

    2.5 Stars rounded up to 3 Stars because 2 felt a bit on the low side.CW: (view spoiler)[Homophobia (challenged), forced outing, references to Tiananmen Square massacre (hide spoiler)]Well that was a l...

  • Kimberly (Deity of Books)

    "This epic first installment in the Daughter of the Dynasty series is sure to appeal to fans of American Royals and Loveboat, Taipei."That's me. I am a huge fan of both of these but was not a huge fan...

  • Monte Price

    I'll edit in my full review closer to the actual publication date, but I will say that this was a fun read that should definitely be on your radar and perhaps even something to preorder.--Shoutout to ...

  • izzy

    I have figured it out. In all aspects but one, this book is thoroughly average. MC falls in instalove, immediately becomes inseparable with a long lost cousin, takes over a movie set as a green actres...

  • USOM

    (Disclaimer: I received this book from Netgalley. This has not impacted my review which is unbiased and honest.) TW: homophobia (which is challenged in the book)Heiress Apparently hit me when I was i...

  • K.S. Marsden

    Gemma is an actress struggling to make the rent, when a new job whisks her away to Beijing, and she learns there's more to her family history than she realised.I received a free copy from Netgalley in...

  • Samantha (WLABB)

    Against her parent's wishes, Gemma elected to take a gap year to chase her dreams of an acting career. Her big break came via a starring role in a remake of M. Butterfly. The only problem was that fil...

  • laurel [the suspected bibliophile]

    Enjoyable but I felt like it tackled too much and left a lot more questions unanswered than it could have. I actually enjoyed the romance aspect though, and the found family portion...although it felt...