King of the Rising

King of the Rising

The second novel in the Islands of Blood and Storm series set in a Caribbean-inspired fantasy world embattled by colonial oppression—perfect for fans of R.F. Kuang and Tasha Suri.

A revolution has swept through the islands of Hans Lollik and former slave Loren Jannik has been chosen to lead the survivors in a bid to free the islands forever. But the rebels are running out of food, weapons and options. And as the Fjern inch closer to reclaiming Hans Lollik with every battle, Loren is faced with a choice that could shift the course of the revolution in their favor-or doom it to failure.

Title:King of the Rising
Edition Language:English
ISBN:9780316454957
Format Type:

    King of the Rising Reviews

  • Nenia ?? Socially Awkward Trash Panda ?? Campbell

    Just checking in to see if it's December 2020 yet.No? Cool, cool. I'll go back to my "screaming in agony of this wait" corner.---DECEMBER???????????OMG. The wait may kill me....

  • karen

    i don't know if i am going to actually review this book so much as talk around my experience with this book/series. there's a big fat (figurative) elephant at the end of this one, and it influenced th...

  • Tomoe Hotaru

    16 Dec. '20 Read my review for Queen of the ConqueredOh, wow. I am just utterly speechless. Not the ending I wanted, but maybe the ending we needed? Certainly it's the ending we deserve. Admittedly...

  • ?Misericordia? ?????? ????

    The next volume in line is out to wait for! Hopefully, it will be just as readworthy and untrivial as the 1st one.Love the cover, btw....

  • Andi

    I have written, re-wrote, and hung onto writing this review. First of all, this book has not yet been released.Second of all, it's a very, very, very tough call on what I can rate this book. I am torn...

  • maritareads

    3.5Thank you Orbit books and Caffeine Tours for providing me with an ARC.This was much easier to read once I got over the visceral shock I had from the first book. It is once again a brutal read with ...

  • Jordan

    *4.5Find this review at Forever Lost in Literature!The Islands of Blood and Storm duology has been an incredibly intense and unpredictable journey, and I am so glad I got to read it. I have had a hard...

  • Arina

    Couldn't put down this book and now I can't get it out of my head. One of the strongest duologies I've read. Fans of deeply-thoughtful social examinations and suspense will hold onto this one like a l...

  • 2TReads

    🌊Reflections 🌊Let me start by saying that there are things to love and enjoy about this book. The fact that Callender was able to centre islanders and their struggle for freedom and begin with a...

  • vitellan

    More of the first book but in some ways, the ending feels lazy. I had similar issues with the writing as with book 1, in that there's a lot of telling-without-showing. The pacing improved and Loren is...